After faithfully paying your homeowner’s insurance premiums for years, it can be a shock to find out that your insurance company does not plan to renew your policy. Your provider can choose to do this for a variety of reasons, and in California there are no laws to prevent non-renewal of homeowner’s insurance policies. The important thing to remember is that a non-renewal notice must be sent to you at least 45 days before the policy expires, so you will have at least 45 days to shop around for a new policy.
If you do receive a notice of non-renewal, the California Department of Insurance recommends that you take the following steps:
Contact your insurance company. Ask if there are any improvements you can make to your home which will reduce your risk of damage and make it insurable again. In some cases you may be able to keep your policy.
Shop around. If you do need to purchase a new policy, consult with several different insurance companies. Different providers have different rules about eligibility. Just because one insurer found your home to be un-insurable for some reason, doesn’t mean other providers will reach the same conclusion.
Check out the California Department of Insurance website for a list of insurance companies which are licensed to sell homeowner’s insurance in the state of California.
Contact California Fair Plan at 1-800-339-4099. The Fair Plan was created to help people with high risk properties find homeowner’s insurance. Remember that the Fair Plan only includes basic fire insurance, so you may want to purchase additional protection elsewhere.
If you need help resolving a problem with your insurance company, or have any other questions, call the California Department of Insurance hotline at 1-800-927-4357.